Salmon & Broccoli Teriyaki Stir Fry

Salmon is one of those foods those Weasel will eat, without much complaint, about 50% of the time, so I thought I’d go for it in an effort to broaden our food horizons a bit with a healthy-ish meal. I went for a Pinterest recipe (click here for original) but made it into a bit of a stir-fry to please the kids.

The marinade was simple – in a baggie with the salmon I just put in a large splash of soy (from my mega-beast-Costco bottle), a smaller splash of mirin, a squeeze of honey (yes, squeezy honey, we’re cretins in this house) and, since we had no sake, I added some free white wine we got from the Chinese takeaway the night before.

IMG_0895

I did genuinely marinade that in the fridge for about 5 hours (I usually give up after about 20 minutes and cook it anyways) since for once I remembered at lunchtime what I wanted for dinner, woohoo!

I then chopped up a red onion, julienned a few carrots, pulled apart some broccoli and stir-fried them up with a little veg oil on high heat (as high as I can get on my crappy electric hob, one day I will have my ginormo wok burner hob. i will.) I added the 2 salmon fillets, broken up a bit, for a couple of minutes and then the 2 minute pre-cooked rice noodles. And tadah!

IMG_0898

Weasel’s verdict: She decided she didn’t like the “ham” today despite our insistence that it was salmon. The Ninja very much enjoyed the carrots in particular. We’ll definitely make this one again.

Leave a comment