Pumpkin & Sweet Potato Moussaka – A Hit!

In an effort to eat nothing but pumpkin in the run up to Halloween for some unknown reason, I decided to use up one of the small pumpkin-like squash things bought for Weasel’s birthday party that never got painted or transported out of our dining room. For a start, I haven’t got a clue what kind of squash/pumpkin it is. The nice man at the farm shop told me and I nodded and pretended like I of course already knew that. IMG_1512

I love moussaka and pumpkin moussaka must be even better, so I decided to give that a go. I found a recipe at Katie at the Kitchen Door (click for link) and started hacking into my tiny pumpkin-squash thing.

Ingredients: One similar size pumpkin or squash of your choice (I think some are more decorative, so check you are buying a culinary one first), 1 large red onion diced, 1lb of ground beef, 2 large sweet potatoes (peeled and sliced into thin slices), 2 tbsp parsley (I used dried, but if you’re better at keeping plants alive than I am, use fresh), salt & pepper. For the bechamel: 4 tbsp salted butter, 1/4 cup of plain flour, 4 cups of milk, 2 eggs, half a pack of crumbled feta cheese, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and s&p.

IMG_1488 (1)

Step One: Roast your veggies in the oven, this heats up your oven and saves on frying a bit.

Step Two: Fry up the beef and onion until nearly done, and put that to the side.

Step Three: Make bechamel. I prefer the chuck it all in at once method, starting with milk first. Whisk continuously over low-ish heat unless you wanted a lumpy mess. After it’s blended, take a couple of ladles of sauce out and pop into a small bowl with the eggs. Whisk together and then pour back into the main mixture. Turn off the heat and stir in the feta and seasonings.

Layering Time! Layer moussaka how you like it, but make sure you have something solid-ish at the bottom like the potatoes or pumpkin.

Bake at 180c for 45 minutes or so. IMG_1489 (1)

Verdict: Weasel loved it unbelievably. The only thing she picked out was the onions (I should have done them a little finer to be fair), but enjoyed the meat, veg and tasty topping. Husband, Ninja and I loved it too and would be definitely happy to eat it again, just maybe next year, because we’re getting a little sick of pumpkin.

IMG_1491 (1)

 

 

Leave a Reply

