Pumpkin Pie Crumble – All for Me!

From the start I knew Weasel wouldn’t eat pumpkin pie crumble and that’s why I made it. All for me! I got the original recipe from Cooking Classy (click here for the real recipe), but altered a couple of things to simplify it and make it slightly less diet-busting.

Ingredients – Crumble bit: 1.25 cups plain flour, 1.25 cups oatmeal (quick cook), 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 cup of granulated sugar (I replaced with 1/4 cup of Truvia instead), 1/2 cup light brown sugar (I used dark as I didn’t have any light, so probably cancelled out the Truvia!), 3/4 cup of melted butter and 1 tbsp of vanilla flavouring (or a good glug like I did).

Pumpkin Pie Bit: 1.25 cup of pumpkin (annoyingly 3/4 of the tin), 1/4 cup light brown sugar, 1/4 cup granulated sugar (or 1/8 of Truvia/Stevia), 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger (of which I had none), and pinch of cloves, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 whole egg, 1 egg yolk, another glug of vanilla, and the recipe calls for either 1/3 cup of evaporated milk or ‘half and half’, I used crème fraiche and it tasted perfectly like normal pumpkin pie. I’m guessing it saves calories, but I’m not very good at comparing merits of different dairy products so who knows.

It’s all quite straight-forward when you don’t bother reading the recipe. Step 1, mush all the crumble stuff together and bake on 175c for 15 minutes. Step 2: Mix all the pie stuff together in a mixer, plop on top of cooled crumble, stuff the idea that you’re meant to save some back for the top probably, and bake again for 20 minutes. Step 3: Put in freezer to cool so you can scoff the whole thing asap. Ta-dah!

Crumble

IMG_1492

Pie, post tasting to make sure it was all ok

IMG_1503

Verdict: Weasel hated it, the Ninja hated it, Husband just thought it was alright. All for me, woohoo! It tasted exactly like it says on the tin (apart from missing ginger tang), like pumpkin pie and oaty crumble.

Leave a Reply

