Baked Clotted Cream Cheesecake Cupcakes with Chocolate Cherry Topping

Can you tell I’m dieting by the fact that this blog has become so food-oriented? It’s practically turning into a Bakers Anonymous meeting.

This baking occasion had a reason, sort of, as I was having a barbecue and it’s Sunday Baking Club’s childhood memories week. First thoughts would turn to sweets and things, but I decided to go with more the dominant flavours of my childhood: black cherry and Hershey’s chocolate bars. I miss cherry so much, as it’s the American equivalent of black currant in all drinks, sweets, gum, etc and it’s so rare here. And of course black currant is vile and should be banned. Hershey’s is always being slagged off from here to eternity as not being proper chocolate, but it’s what I grew up with. My love of a baked cheesecake, combined with the need for easy to serve portions and a cherry-less option for fussy kids, lead me to baked cheesecake cupcakes with chocolate cherry topping. And, well, I couldn’t resist the big-ass tub of clotted cream in Costco’s. So it would be a bit experimental too.

Very little food-miles on these cherries, as they were half our year’s crop. The half not eaten by bastard starlings whilst we spent the weekend in Manchester. Robbed!

IMG_0564

But here are a few tasty ones that that haven’t made it into the pile of cherries that Husband claims he’s going to make into jam

IMG_0563

Ingredient-wise I stuck a little more to a recipe than usual, following this one (mostly) on Cooking Classy (haha! That’s the last thing I do!). For the cupcake base: 8 digestive biscuits and 7 heaped tablespoons of margarine (I left out the sugar that was called for given how sweet it was all going to be). For the Cheesecake (or as Husband pointed out, cream cake): 110 grams of lightest cream cheese, 150 grams of Truvia sugar (300 if you are using granulated), 4 heaped tbsps of plain flour (the recipe called for 3 but I don’t know, it seemed like not cakey enough in my head without more flour, as if it makes a difference), 4 large eggs, 2 tbsp vanilla, about 300g grams of clotted cream For the Topping: A couple of handfuls of cherries (de-stoned), a packet of Ella’s the red one (because I didn’t have enough cherries and the only jam we had in the fridge was rhubarb & ginger) and another half cup of Truvia or sugar if you prefer. I then added some melted milk chocolate on top, but do whatever you want.

IMG_0546

Base: Pop cases into a cupcake tray (this made 18 short-ish cupcakes). Smash up the digestive biscuits and mix together with melted marge/butter. Bake for 5 minutes at 180c.

IMG_0547

Cheesecake: Blend together all ingredients in a mixer. The only order I follow is to put the eggs in first so that you can easily fish out any wayward pieces of shell. Pour into baked cases, nearly to the top (they don’t rise), and bake for 20 minutes at 180c. Remove and cool a bit.

Topping: Heat up cherries and sugar and reduce until they’re nice and sticky. Turn off heat and if you don’t seem to have much, add a fruit purée packet or, if your husband finishes things off in the fridge but actually tells you about it, maybe you even have some jam in there! Pop topping on cool-ish cheesecake. Melt chocolate in microwave (medium heat for 30 seconds, stir, then 30 seconds, but keep checking it, burns easily. Or be less lazy and get a proper bowl over pan of boiling water). Try and make pretty patterns over the cherry, fail, make blobs. Store in fridge.

IMG_0553

Verdict: Weasel didn’t really help me make this unfortunately as she’s been a little moody lately. And despite making her a few with only chocolate on top, she ate the chocolate and refused to eat the rest. Oh well. I have had 9 myself, and I think Husband likes them despite the presence of the fruit. Overall, I would say a success and the discovery that clotted cream does indeed make kick ass baked cheese cake.

IMG_0567

2 comments

  1. great job 🙂

    1. Thanks! Although, too good, I can’t stop eating them!

Leave a Reply

