Broadening Our Summer Salad Horizons and Pissing Off Most of the Family

So with the Ocado grocery delivery a couple of weeks ago came, as usual, the Ocado Life magazine which normally makes its way rather rapidly to the recycling bin. However, sweating like a pig in a desert and seeing the article on salads, I thought I’d have a look inside. I decided to have a go at all of them over the next couple of weeks to stop the salad rut we’re in. It was never going to go that well having two toddlers and attempting to feed them salad, so some modifications would need to be made.

Salad One: Feta, Fig & Pomegranate salad – Ingredients – 1 pomegranate (well, a pack of pre-plucked seeds, I can’t cope with a real proper one without it looking like someone has been brutally murdered in my kitchen), 300g of feta (I used 200g since I’m not damn well using a pack and a half), splash of lemon juice, 3tbsp olive oil (or a big glug), 1 tsp ground cumin (it calls for seeds, but I don’t have them and thought they’re be weird anyways), 4 small handfuls of baby spinach (I used a small bag, I’m not measuring out friggin leaves), 4 figs & salt&pepper. It called for 110g of almond flakes too. I didn’t have those or want those, and after a brief consideration of the pecans in the cupboard, decided to leave nuts out entirely.

Supposed to look like this, and not far off of mine for once!

IMG_9418

And here’s mine:

IMG_9415

Verdict: I’ve only realised now I was supposed to roast the figs for 20-30 minutes at 180c, and I realised soon after I made it that you don’t eat the green bits of fig (Husband pointed this out, I protested, but after a mouthful discovered he may not have been entirely wrong). You’re also supposed to marinate the feta in the juice and cumin whilst you’re fig-roasting. Well then, that’s why this recipe only took like 3 minutes to make then!

Husband’s Verdict: He wasn’t much impressed that I fed him pomegranate and fig, 2 more things that the man who claims to like all food, hates. This is on top of the fact that I had promised him a salad with chorizo and squid but never made it to the shop to buy the squid. Weasel? She had the feta on pasta. She liked it but only ate one actual piece of feta despite her claims. The Ninja had the pasta, feta and fig. Unsurprisingly she wasn’t impressed with the half-ripe, unroasted, skin-covered figs. Oh well, onto the next one!

Leave a Reply

