Hot Chocolate Cupcakes Made A Little Less Calorific

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m never going to manage to stop baking, and to be honest, I don’t want to. So I’ve got to come up with ways not to be a total blimp and still make tasty, sweet treats. Step one has definitely been to halve or even quarter the recipes. I don’t need 24 cupcakes really, so why should I make them? To satisfy my cooking urge I can always just make 6 small cupcakes, make Husband, Weasel and I happy, and feel 100 times less guilty. The more there are in the house, inevitably the more I’m going to woof down. Job done.

On this occasion we were actually planning on transporting the baked goods out of the house for a play date, so we kept the volume. Weasel picked out Hot Chocolate Cupcakes from the Cake Days Book from Hummingbird Bakery (an odd choice given it’s one of the few recipes in the book without a photo of the cakes). What we altered were the ingredients – Flora Light, Truvia baking sugar, skimmed milk and Highlights hot chocolate mix.

Sponge: 240ml milk, 25g hot chocolate powder, 80g unsalted butter, 280g caster sugar, 240g plain flour, 1tbsp baking powder, 1/4tsp salt, 2 eggsHeat up the milk, stir hot coco powder in, then there’s a load of complicated instructions, but I just mixed all the rest in. Life is too short to faff over the order of ingredients into a bowl. Fill up the cases (I stupidly didn’t read that bit and did the typical 2/3 the way up), bake at 190c for 18-20 minutes.

Icing: 60ml milk, 30g hot cocoa powder, 500g icing sugar, 160g unsalted butter. I just halved this recipe and still had tons leftover.

Weasel ‘helps’ with the stirring before I move it over to the mixer

IMG_7310

Another task she can always help with – putting in the cases. We’ve run out of paper cases, so the silicone ones got used. We have a very random selection now as I always manage to leave one behind. Cleaning tip- pop them inside out to wash them – they’re still a pain, just slightly less of a pain.

IMG_7312

I’m a dumb-ass and forgot to take the photo after they were iced.

IMG_7316

Verdict: They tasted good, but you could definitely tell you were eating reduced calorie food. It was difficult to taste any chocolate in the cupcake itself, so I would add proper cocoa powder next time and maybe use butter for the icing at least to give it more oomph and structure. Weasel couldn’t care less, she got icing and that’s all she could ever want.

IMG_7343

Leave a Reply

