One Mole Digging a Hole

I despise this book. One Mole Digging a Hole is badly illustrated, has painful rhythm and is just plain dull. When Weasel toddles off across the room to her book shelf, I get a sense of dread that she might bring back this book and I would soon be called on to read it over and over and over again with enthusiasm. Can I have enthusiasm about some storks with garden forks? No, no I can not.

Much to my dismay, Weasel loves this book. And as much as I wish that when I bought that multi-pack of books from the Book People at work, I would have held this one back for nearly-forgotten children’s birthday presents, I can’t bring myself to actually get rid of it. To be fair, there are a lot of nouns to point out; it’s taught her words like butterfly, flower and fox. And I know I’m being weird on this one, but I think the mole is creepy. Just look at those beady eyes staring at you. Creepy.

Verdict: your toddler will love it, you will leave boxes of crayons ‘by accident’ next to it in the vain hope it will soon be disposable

2 comments

  1. But Julia Donaldson (the Gruffalo) and Nick Sharrat (Mrs Pirate) should be like the power couple of pre-school literature. How disappointing!!

    1. I know, it should be amazing! It’s just dull though.

Leave a Reply

