More Things Made of Pumpkin! Banana Pumpkin Milkshakes

I came across skinny pumpkin milkshakes on you-know-what website that I’m addicted to, and decided to use the leftover 1/2 a cup of tinned pumpkin purée from my pumpkin pie crumble the other day. The original looked like this photo below, and unsurprisingly, my version didn’t. Click here if you want the original recipe from Gimme Some Oven.

Skinny-Pumpkin-Milkshakes-3

With mine I decided to substitute glitter for the autumnal sprinkles. This is not something anyone in their right mind should do. It required a mid-milkshake bath for Weasel, it was that bad.

Weasel’s sprinkly version, before she got ahold of the pot I left just out of shot. I swear she was happier than the photo implies.

IMG_1526

Ingredients for 2 adults and one toddler: One banana, 2 cups of whole milk, 1/3 cup of crème fraiche (using up leftover dairy products from other dishes :) ), 8 ice cubes (that’s all I had in the freezer as Husband never refills the tray until it’s totally empty), a glug of vanilla, about 1 tbsp of cinnamon and about half a cup of puréed pumpkin. The original recommends honey, which I totally missed, but I do think that might be a nice addition as it isn’t that sweet. To make it you just pop it in a blender, not really any steps to describe.

Look, mine is in front of a pumpkin too! Makes it look nearly like the one above, right?

IMG_1530

Verdict: Husband refused to drink it, Weasel loved it! Woohoo! She even drank most of the second glass she asked for. Oddly, no matter how many times I called it pumpkin and banana, she was convinced I was lying to her and it was actually a chocolate milkshake. We really need to work on her ingredient recognition. I’d definitely make it again if I had leftover purée, it doesn’t take much, but I’d do it with honey and normal sprinkles next time I think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

